Happy Hens

Helping hens be happy

Water Feeder

on September 26, 2017

Today I have researched about water feeders and how to make one. To make this water feeder you need….

. 2 or more water cups

. 5 gallon food grade bucket

. Toughening tape

. 3 Inch drill bit

As well as learning to research to find a good video I also learnt about science.

Did you know that water always finds it’s own level? So that means if you fill up a pipe and hold it up a centimetre from a bowl you’ll think it would stop as soon as the bowl is full, but no it keeps going until the water is the same height as the water out side the pipe. But the watering cup stops the water from freely flowing until a chicken comes and presses down the lever and the water is released. It kind of words like a mouse/rat waterer.

When I get the equipment I can build the waterer. Down below is the video I got off youtube.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar