Happy Hens

Helping hens be happy

Arum Is Eloise

on October 26, 2017

I have big news that Arum (as we thought was a rooster) has laid her first egg and proven he was a hen. Her eggs are really small, just a bit bigger than a fifty cent piece. We have seven Eloise eggs right now, I expect the yolk would be small so I will have to use her eggs in omelettes or frittatas.

Eloise’s Eggs

Did you know that when I’m around Lucas doesn’t get pecked (hard) by Eloise, but when I’m gone, that’s a different story. Yesterday Lucas’s got pecked so hard that his foot started to bleed. It’s something to do with the pecking order. I earned all of the chickens respect, even Eloise!  You really don’t want to see Eloise angry, she chases after you really fast , fluffs up and starts pecking towards you. It’s actually quite scary, before I earned their respect. Just show them your not afraid, and get pecked really hard.

Eloise. Don’t Get On Her Bad Side


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar